Cart 0
Woody's New York City ~ Gift Set

Woody's New York City ~ Gift Set


Discover Woody's New York! This collection includes:

- "My Name Is New York: Ramblin' Around Woody Guthrie's Town" - Book & CD Set
- "Mermaid Avenue" CD
- Set of 3 Notepads
- 2 "This Machine Kills Fascists" pencils

My Name Is New York: Ramblin' Around Woody Guthrie's Town - Book & CD Set
Written and narrated by Nora Guthrie

Woody Guthrie first arrived in New York City on February 16, 1940. Although he continued to ramble, for 27 years— from 1940 until his death in 1967—New York was the city he called home and always returned to.

For the first time, this wonderful New York story comes to life with historical photos, documents, and previously unpublished lyrics from the Woody Guthrie Archives. Highlighting 19 significant locations, this little guide provides an expansive yet intimate portrait of Woody Guthrie’s NYC life. We invite you to walk the streets, ride the buses and subways, or sit down and relax on some of the stoops, park benches, or beaches where Woody Guthrie did—always strumming away on his guitar, always working on a new song.

Many of Woody’s most popular songs were written in apartments, lofts, and other locations around “New York Town.” That song, along with “Jesus Christ,” “Vigilante Man,” “Hard Travelin’,” “Tom Joad,” “Reuben James,” “All You Fascists Bound to Lose,” and “1913 Massacre,” are among the more than 600 he composed in The Big Apple. Most surprisingly, his iconic “This Land Is Your Land,” was written at a small rooming house on 43rd Street and Sixth Avenue, on February 23, 1940 within a few days of his arrival. With new friends Pete Seeger, Lead Belly, Sonny Terry, and Brownie McGhee and the Almanac Singers he was at the center of a new movement—introducing and popularizing rural, roots, topical, and protest music to modern, urban audiences.

Book published by: powerHouse Books. 5" x 8" Paperback. 96 pgs. 2012.
Audio Book published by: Woody Guthrie Publications, Inc. 3-CD Set. 2014

Mermaid Avenue CD
Lyrics by Woody Guthrie, Music by Billy Bragg & Wilco

In 1995, Nora Guthrie approached Billy Bragg with the idea of setting music to many of Woody's lyrics to which there had been no music. These lyrics/poems came out of the Woody Guthrie Archive. Billy joined with the band Wilco and they set music to these songs. The album was released in 1998 to critical acclaim, made bestseller lists, and earned a Grammy nomination. The album's title comes from the street in Coney Island, Brooklyn where Woody and his family lived.

3 Notepad Set -
- "All You Can Write Is What You See"
- "A Folk Song Is What's Wrong and How To Fix It"
- "This Land Is Made For You and Me"

Bring Woody's words with you wherever you go with these handy notepads. Printed on letter press by Laughing Owl Press. Notepad with 30 pg. brown paper interior. Dimensions: 3" x 5"

2 of our "This Machine Kills Fascists" #2 pencils



More from this collection