Cart 0
Woody, Cisco and Sonny - Vinyl

Woody, Cisco and Sonny - Vinyl


Artist: Woody Guthrie, Cisco Houston and Sonny Terry

During a marathon recording session for Stinson Records in April, 1944, Woody Guthrie invited guitarist (and Merchant Marine shipmate) Cisco Houston and harmonica player Sonny Terry to join him for an impromptu jam session. Here are 15 of their best performances, including the previously unissued “Guitar Rag,” “Brown’s Ferry Blues” and “Sonny’s Flight.”

“These recordings are treasures. To sit and listen, is to sit with Woody and his crew. And you become a part of that crew, and you hear how they listen to each other’s voices, how they lean in to connect their rhythms and harmonies. It’s achingly human, simple and direct yet full of spirited words and ideas. You can hear so much; the man, his friends, his words, his times, his passions, his angers, his family, his government, his home, his road.

“It’s very, very strange. The more time goes by, the clearer Woody’s voice gets.” 
-Nora Guthrie

Track Listing:
1. Train Breakdown
2. Do You Ever Think Of Me (aka. At My Window)
3. Guitar Rag
4. Square Dance Medley
5. Guitar Breakdown
6. Raincrow Bill
7. Ain't Nobody's Business
8. Stepstone
9. Ezekiel Saw the Wheel
10. Bile Them Cabbage Down
11. Danville Girl
12. Guitar Blues
13. Brown's Ferry Blues
14. More Pretty Girls Than One
15. Sonny's Flight

Rounder Records. 

More from this collection