Cart 0
Asch Recordings 4-CD Box Set: Volumes 1-4

Asch Recordings 4-CD Box Set: Volumes 1-4


Artist: Woody Guthrie

During the 1930'S and 40'S Woody recorded hundreds of songs for Folkways Records founder Moe Asch. Now released in a new 4-CD boxed compilation! (Each CD is also available separately).

Each CD in this set has a different emphasis, and together they are a powerful statement about Woody Guthrie the man and Moses Asch the producer.  They are also the richest and most representative set of Woody Guthrie recordings ever assembled -- carefully selected, lovingly remastered, and richly annotated by Jeff Place and Guy Logsdon.  VOLUME 1 presents many of what have become Guthrie's best-known songs; VOLUME 2 is a selection of the more traditional folk music repertory Guthrie had learned and made his own over the years; VOLUME 3 is selected from the enormous number of songs he wrote about current events; and VOLUME 4 presents songs about cowboys, outlaws and other western themes.

Smithsonian/Folkways. 1999. 4-CD Box Set


1. This Land Is Your Land
2. Car Song (Riding In My Car)
3. Ramblin’ Round
4. Talking Fishing Blues
5. Philadelphia Lawyer
6. Lindbergh
7. Hobo's Lullaby
8. Pastures of Plenty
9. Grand Coulee Dam
10. End of My Line
11. New York Town
12. Gypsy Davy
13. Jesus Christ
14. This Land Is Your Land (with "No Trespassing" verse)
15. Do Re Mi
16. Jarama Valley
17. The Biggest Thing That Man Has Ever Done
18. Picture From Life’s Other Side
19. Jesse James
20. Talking Hard Work
21. When that Great Ship Went Down
22. Hard, Ain’t It Hard
23. Going Down the Road Feeling Bad
24. I Ain’t Got Nobody
25. Sinking of the Reuben James
26. Why, Oh Why?
27. This Land Is Your Land (reprise)

1. Muleskinner Blues
2. Wreck of the Old ‘97
3. Sally Goodin’
4. Little Black Train
5. Who’s Gonna Shoe your Pretty Little Feet
6. Baltimore to Washington
7. Rubber Dolly
8. 21 Years
9. Sowing the Mountain
10. Bed on the Floor
11. Take A Whiff on Me
12. Stepstone
13. Put My Little Shoes Away
14. Hen Cackle
15. Poor Boy
16. Stackolee
17. Johnny Hart
18. Worried Man Blues
19. Danville Girl
20. Gambling Man
21. Rye Straw
22. Crawdad Song
23. Ida Red
24. Keep My Skillet Good and Greasy
25. Train 45

1. Hard Travelin’
2. Farmer-Labor Train
3. Howdjadoo
4. Ship in the Sky
5. I Ain’t Got No Home
6. Mean Talking Blues
7. Better World A-Coming
8. Miss Pavlichenko
9. So Long, It’s Been Good to Know You (WWII version)
10. New Found Land
11. Oregon Trail
12. Vigilante Man
13. 1913 Massacre
14. Talking Columbia
15. Two Good Men
16. Sally, Don’t You Grieve
17. Talking Sailor
18. What Are We Waiting On?
19. Railroad Blues
20. Ludlow Massacre
21. Ladies Auxiliary
22. Miner’s Song
23. When the Yanks Go Marching In
24. Union Maid (excerpt)
25. Rubaiyat (excerpt)
26. The Many and the Few
27. Hanukkah Dance

1. Ranger’s Command
2. Buffalo Skinners
3. Billy the Kid
4. Cowboy Waltz
5. Pretty Boy Floyd
6. Along in the Sun and the Rain
7. Whoopie Ti Yi Yo, Get Along Little Dogies
8. Froggie Went A-Courting
9. Buffalo Gals
10. I Ride An Old Paint
11. Dead or Alive
12. Slipknot
13. Cocaine Blues
14. Go Tell Aunt Rhody
15. Chisholm Trail
16. Stewball
17. Wild Cyclone
18. Train Blues
19. Red River Valley
20. Fastest of Ponies
21. Stewball (w/ Leadbelly and Cisco Houston)
22. Snow deer
23. When the Curfew Blows
24. Little Darling
25. Blowing Down that old Dusty Road
26. Return of Rocky Mountain Slim and Desert Rat Shorty

Smithsonian/Folkways. 1999. CD.

More from this collection