Cart 0
The Live Wire: Woody Guthrie in Performance 1949 CD

The Live Wire: Woody Guthrie in Performance 1949 CD


Artist: Woody & Marjorie Guthrie

In 2001, The Woody Guthrie Archives received 2 spools of wire recordings from a live Woody Guthrie performance held in Newark, New Jersey in 1949. With the help of many talented recording engineers, the Woody Guthrie Foundation transferred this rare live performance from a delicate wire recording to digital audio, and, with state-of-the-art technology, restored it to near-perfection. This is one of the most significant recent finds in folk music history.

1. How much? How long?
2. Black Diamond
3. I was there and the dust was there
4. The Great Dust Storm
5. Folk singers and dancers
6. Talking Dust Bowl Blues
7. Tom Joad
8. Columbia River
9. Pastures of Plenty
10. Grand Coulee Dam
11. Told by Mother Bloor
12. 1913 Massacre
13. Quit sending your inspectors
14. Goodbye Centralia
15. A cowboy of some kind
16. Dead or Alive
17. Jesus Christ has come!
18. Jesus Christ

Total Running Time: 74:54
*Tracks in italics are spoken word.

Rounder Records. 2010. CD.

More from this collection