Cart 0
Dust Bowl Ballads CD

Dust Bowl Ballads CD


Recorded in 1940, and later reissued by Folkways Recordings in 1950, Guthrie’s first album chronicles the American Dust Bowl through his prosaic style of talking blues. Using only guitar and vocals, the album follows the exodus of Midwesterners headed for California and mirrors both Guthrie’s own life and John Steinbeck’s novel The Grapes of Wrath.

1. Talking Dust Bowl
2. Blowin' Down This Road
3. Do-Re-Mi
4. Dust Cain't Kill Me
5. Tom Joad
6. The Great Dust Storm
7. Dusty Old Dust (So Long It's Been Good To Know Yuh)
8. Dust Bowl Refugee
9. Dust Pneumonia Blues
10. I Ain't Got No Home In This World Anymore
11. Vigilante Man

Smithsonian Folkways. 1964. CD.

More from this collection