Cart 0
Broke Down ~ Slaid Cleaves

Broke Down ~ Slaid Cleaves


Artist: Slaid Cleaves
Guthrie Lyric: "This Morning I Am Born Again" / Words by Woody Guthrie, Music by Slaid Cleaves

Broke Down is the follow-up to Cleaves' remarkable debut, easily fulfilling the promise of its predecessor. Framed by simple country-folk arrangements and produced by Gurf Morlix (Lucinda Williams, Butch Hancock), the 10 songs on this album paint bleak landscapes dotted with broken dreams and broken-down cars. Cleaves takes the American experience and translates it to song.

1. Broke Down
2. One Good Year
3. Horseshoe Lounge
4. Cold and Lonely
5. Breakfast In Hell
6. Bring It On
7. Lydia
8. This Morning I Am Born Again
9. Key Chain
10. I Feel The Blues Moving In

Philo (Rounder/Concord). 2000. CD

More from this collection