Cart 0
Poor Boy CD

Poor Boy CD


Artist: Woody Guthrie

Guthrie sang about many topics, but he was particularly known for being a voice of the poor and downtrodden, and the recordings on Poor Boy showcase this side of his work. The recordings were made in the mid-1940s and were originally released under the name Bed on the Floor.

Six tracks feature additional singing by Cisco Houston (1918–1961), and two feature harmonica accompaniment by Sonny Terry (1911–1986).

The liner notes feature an excerpt from Born to Win, Guthrie’s book of drawings, letters, lyrics, and stories.

1. Baltimore to Washington
2. Little Black Train
3. Who's Gonna Shoe Your Pretty Little Feet
4. Slip Knot
5. Poor Boy
6. Mean Talking Blues
7. Stepstone
8. Bed on the Floor
9. Little Darling
10. Miner's SongTrain Blues
11. Danville Girl
12. I Ride an Old Paint

Smithsonian/Folkways. 1968. CD.

More from this collection