Cart 0

Woody At 100: The Woody Guthrie Centennial Collection 3-CD Box Set


Artist: Woody Guthrie
Author: Jeff Place

This stunning centennial box set includes 3 CD's of Smithsonian Folkways original recordings, with never before released tracks and radio recordings by Woody Guthrie. The accompanying book includes essays by Jeff Place, Robert Santelli and Peter LaChappell.

This package highlights over 150 original pieces of artwork, lyrics, photographs and writings by Woody Guthrie from the Ralph Rinzler Folklife Archives and the Woody Guthrie Archives.

1. This Land Is Your Land (Alternate Version)
2. Pastures of Plenty
3. Riding in My Car (Car Song)
4. The Grand Coulee Dam
5. Talking Dust Bowl
6. So Long, It's Been Good to Know Yuh (Dusty Old Dust)
7. Ramblin' Round
8. Philadelphia Lawyer
9. Hard Travelin'
10. Pretty Boy Floyd
11. Hobo's Lullaby
12. Talking Columbia
13. The Sinking of the Reuben James
14. Jesus Christ
15. Gypsy Davy
16. New York Town
17. Going Down the Road (Feeling Bad)
18. Hard, Ain't It Hard
19. The Biggest Thing That Man Has Ever Done (The Great Historical Bum)
20. This Land Is Your Land (Standard Version)
21. Jarama Valley
22. Why, Oh Why?
23. I've Got to Know

1. Better World A-Comin'
2. When That Great Ship Went Down (The Great Ship)
3. A Dollar Down and a Dollar a Week
4. Talking Centralia
5. 1913 Massacre
6. Dirty Overalls
7. My Daddy (Flies a Ship in the Sky)
8. Worried Man Blues
9. Hangknot, Slipknot
10. Buffalo Skinners
11. Howdi Do
12. Jackhammer John
13. The Ranger’s Command
14. So Long, It's Been Good to Know You (WWII Version)
15. What Are We Waiting On?
16. Lindbergh
17. Ludlow Massacre
18. Bad Lee Brown (Cocaine Blues)
19. Two Good Men
20. Farmer-Labor Train
21. The Jolly Banker
22. We Shall Be Free

1. I Ain’t Got No Home (In This World Anymore)
2. Them Big City Ways
3. Do Re Mi
4. Skid Row Serenade
5. Radio Program: The Ballad Gazette With Woody Guthrie [This Land Is Your Land; What Did the Deep Sea Say?; Blow Ye Winds; Trouble on the Waters; Blow the Man Down; Normandy Was Her Name; The Sinking of the Reuben James]
6. BBC: Children’s Hour July 7, 1944 [Intro - Wabash Cannonball; 900 Miles; Stagger Lee; Pretty Boy Floyd]
7. People’s Songs Hootenanny [Ladies Auxiliary; Weaver's Life]
8. WNYC Radio Program: Folk Songs of America December 12, 1940 [John Hardy; Jesse James; Tom Joad]
9. Reckless Talk
10. All Work Together
11. My Little Seed
12. Goodnight Little Cathy

Smithsonian Folkways Records. Hardcover book with 3-CD. 150 pgs. 2012.

More from this collection