Cart 0
The Works CD

The Works CD


Artist: Jonatha Brooke

For the first time ever a woman has composed, arranged, produced and performed a complete album of Woody Guthrie songs. The gods must be shaking their heads, "'bout time!"

Jonatha's antennae honed in on Woody's love songs, which are still relatively unknown. Some are sweetly childlike, other's more spiritual. Some are downright pissed off or downright sexual! But they all swirl around Woody's broad concept of love, as a complete theme in and of itself. 

Featuring: Joe Sample, Steve Gadd and Christian McBride. Special guest appearances by: Keb Mo', Derek Trucks, Glen Phillips and Eric Bazilian.

1. My Sweet and Bitter Bowl
2. You'd Oughta Be Satisfied Now
3. All You Gotta Do Is Touch Me (with Keb Mo')
4. My Flowers Grow Green
5. Madonna On The Curb (words by Christopher Morley)
6. There's More True Lovers Than One (with Eric Bazilian)
7. Sweetest Angel (with Glen Phillips)
8. My Battle
9. Little Bird (words by Jonatha Brooke)
10. Taste of Danger (words by Jonatha Brooke)
11. New Star (with Derek Trucks)
12. King of My Love
13. No More Letters

Bad Dog Records. 2008. CD.

More from this collection