Cart 0
Mermaid Avenue, Vol. III (2-VINYL Set)

Mermaid Avenue, Vol. III (2-VINYL Set)


Artists: Billy Bragg & Wilco
(with special guest Corey Harris)

180g 2LP Vinyl Set



Side 1:
1. Bugeye Jim
2. When The Roses Bloom Again
3. Gotta Work
4. My Thirty Thousand

Side 2:
1. Ought To Be Satisfied Now
2. Listening To The Wind That Blows
3. Go Down To The Water
4. Chain Of Broken Hearts

Side 3:
1. Jailcell Blues
2. Don’t You Marry
3. Give Me A Nail
4. The Jolly Banker
5. Union Prayer

Side 4:
1. Be Kind To The Boy On The Road
2. Ain’ta Gonna Grieve
3. Tea Bag Blues
4. I’m Out To Get

In 1995, Nora Guthrie approached Billy Bragg with the idea of setting music to many of Woody's lyrics to which there had been no music. These lyrics/poems came out of the Woody Guthrie Archive. Billy joined with the band Wilco and they set music to these songs. The album was released in 1998 to critical acclaim, made bestseller lists, and earned a Grammy nomination. The album's title comes from the street in Coney Island, Brooklyn where Woody and his family lived.

Read more about this project

Nonesuch Records. 2013. 2xLP 180g Audiophile Vinyl.

More from this collection