Cart 0
Roll Columbia: Woody Guthrie’s 26 Northwest Songs

Roll Columbia: Woody Guthrie’s 26 Northwest Songs


Artists: Various

This 2017 double-disc release celebrates the original 26 songs written by Woody Guthrie in 1941, during the 30 days living in the Pacific Northwest. 

Originally written to promote the construction of dams along the Columbia River, 75 years later, present-day artists with ties to the Pacific Northwest who have been influenced by this fruitful time in Guthrie’s career have gathered together to record their own interpretations.


Disc One:
1. Pastures of Plenty ~ Michael Hurley/Jon Neufeld
2. Oregon Line ~ Pharis/Jason Romero
3. Lumber Is King ~ Cahalen Morrison
4. Out Past the End of the Line ~ Timberbound
5. Portland Town to Klamath Falls ~ Tony Furtado/Kristin Andreassen
6. Eleckatricity and All ~ Annalisa Tornfelt/the Tornfelt Sisters
7. Hard Travelin' ~ Ben Hunter/Joe Seamons
8. Columbia Talkin’ Blues ~ Carl Allen
9. The Talkin' Blues ~ Al James/Jon Neufeld
10. Jackhammer Blues ~ Martha Scanlan/Jon Neufeld
11. Roll On Columbia, Roll On ~ Steve Einhorn and Kate Power
12. The Biggest Thing That Man Has Ever Done ~ Caitlin Belem Romtvedt/David Romtvedt/Joe Seamons
13. Jackhammer Blues ~ Orville Johnson
14. Guys on the Grand Coulee Dam ~ Bill Murlin and Fine Company
15. Mile an’ a Half from th’ End of th’ Line ~ Timberbound

Disc Two:
1. Columbia's Waters ~ Caitlin Belem Romtvedt/David Romtvedt/Joe Seamons
2. Ballad of the Great Grand Coulee ~ Darrin Craig/Jon Neufeld
3. Washington Talkin' Blues ~ Scott McCaughey/Peter Buck/Jon Neufeld
4. It Takes a Married Man to Sing a Worried Song ~ Pharis/Jason Romero
5. Ramblin' Blues ~ Ben Hunter/Joe Seamons
6. New Found Land ~ John Moen/Chris Funk/Jon Neufeld
7. White Ghost Train ~ Cahalen Morrison
8. The Song of the Grand Coulee Dam ~ George Rezendes/David Grisman/Tracy Grisman
9. A Ramblin' Round ~ John Moen/Chris Funk
10. Roll, Columbia, Roll ~ Bill Murlin/Fine Company
11. Grand Coulee Powder Monkey ~ Scott McCaughey/Peter Buck/Jon Neufeld
12. The Ballad of Jackhammer John ~ Cahalen Morrison/Joe Seamons/Jon Neufeld
13. Pastures of Plenty ~ Orville Johnson

Smithsonian Folkways Records. 2017. 2-CD plus 44-page booklet.

More from this collection