Cart 0
That's Why We're Marching CD

That's Why We're Marching CD


Artist: Various Artists

Artists include Woody Guthrie, Almanac Singers, Lead Belly, Tom Glazer, Cisco Houston, Pete Seeger, Josh White, Burl Ives and others. Few people have heard these songs composed and sung from 1940 to 1945 by artists primarily known for their influence on American folk music after 1945. Both the protest songs and the prowar songs are assembled for the first time in this historic compilation. Twenty-five tracks, including Mr. Hitler, Talking Sailor, Ballad of October 16, and Sinking of the Reuben James.

1. Freedom Road
2. Talking Sailor
3. Ballad of October 16
4. Billy Boy
5. Plow Under
6. I'm Gonnna Put My Name Down
7. What Are We Waiting On? (What Are We Waiting For)
8. Citizen C.I.O.
9. Sinking of the Reuben James
10. You Better Get Ready
11. If You Want to Do Your Part
12. Move Into German
13. So Long It's Been Good To Know You (Dusty Old Dust)
14. Martins and Coys
15. Mr. Hitler
16. Sally Don't You Grieve
17. Jimmy Longhi Story
18. When the Yanks Go Marching In
19. Round and Round Hitler's Grave
20. The Fuhrer
21. Miss Pavilichenko
22. National Defense Blues
23. Gee But I Want to Go Home
24. Looking For A Home
25. Now That It's All Over

Smithsonian Folkways. 1996. CD.

More from this collection