Cart 0

Collaborations ~ Gift Set


"I ain't dead yet!" - WG

Over the years we have collaborated with a number of artists. This collection includes a snapshot of those creative collaborative projects. 

This Gift Set includes:

-  "Blackwing #223" Notebook and Pencil Set
-  "Del and Woody" CD

-  "Wonder Wheel" CD
-  "The Works" CD
-  "Mermaid Avenue Vol. 2" CD
-  "New Multitudes" CD

Blackwing #223 Notebook & Pencil Set

Blackwing is honoring Woody Guthrie's life and creative legacy with a limited edition Blackwing #223 pencil and notebook!

This is a tribute to Woody and his immutable optimism. Each pencil features a design inspired by This Land’s “ribbon of highway,” “endless skyway” and “golden valley.” The matte black ferrule and earth-toned eraser are a nod to the many miles Woody traveled. The balanced graphite formulation works well for both writing and sketching so you, too, can fill your pages with what you see.

This limited edition A5 composition notebook features 160 pages of high-quality, 80 GSM ruled paper. Each book is sewn-bound and finished with a cardstock cover featuring a design inspired by one of Woody’s personal composition books. As a special treat, we included a piece of Woody's artwork in the back inside cover of this special notebook.

Limited edition of set of 12 pencils. Notebook dimensions: 6" x 8". Designed by Blackwing. 

"Del and Woody" CD
Artist: Del McCoury Band

*"The New York Trains" 2015 GRAMMY Award Nominee for Best American Roots Song. 

“The entire album goes back to a place and time that these days, are an almost forgotten era. But, Del’s high bluegrass voice brings it all back into focus...It’s amazing how little the human condition has changed, and good to be reminded that humor, attitude, and great music are timeless. Thank you, Del.” - Arlo Guthrie

1. The New York Trains
2. Cheap Mike
3. Aint A Gonna Do
4. Left in This World Alone
5. Californy Gold
6. Because You Took Me In Out Of The Rain
7. The Government Road
8. Dirty Overhalls
9. Family Reunion
10. Wimmen's Hats
11. Little Fellow
12. Hoecake Fritters

McCoury Music. 2016. CD. 

"Wonder Wheel" CD
Artist: The Klezmatics

*2007 GRAMMY Award Winner for Best Contemporary World Music Album of the Year

"Woody Guthrie wrote over 3000 lyrics in his lifetime, most of which he never recorded. The Klezmatics offer up 12 of these previously unknown songs, creating a wonderous wheel of new music that places them in today's musical soundtrack. Just as he would have wanted it." - Nora Guthrie

1. Come When I Call You
2. Mermaid's Avenue
3. Headdy Down
4. Gonna Get Through This World
5. Pass Away
Holy Ground
7. Goin' Away To Sea
8. From Here On In
9. Wheel Of Life
10. Condorbird
11. Orange Blossom Ring
12. Heaven

 Jewish Music Group. 2006. CD. 

"The Works" CD
Artist: Jonatha Brooke

For the first time ever a woman has composed, arranged, produced and performed a complete album of Woody Guthrie songs. The gods must be shaking their heads, "'bout time!"

Jonatha's antennae honed in on Woody's love songs, which are still relatively unknown. Some are sweetly childlike, other's more spiritual. Some are downright pissed off or downright sexual! But they all swirl around Woody's broad concept of love, as a complete theme in and of itself. 

Featuring: Joe Sample, Steve Gadd and Christian McBride. Special guest appearances by: Keb Mo', Derek Trucks, Glen Phillips and Eric Bazilian.

1. My Sweet and Bitter Bowl
2. You'd Oughta Be Satisfied Now
3. All You Gotta Do Is Touch Me (with Keb Mo')
4. My Flowers Grow Green
5. Madonna On The Curb (words by Christopher Morley)
6. There's More True Lovers Than One (with Eric Bazilian)
7. Sweetest Angel (with Glen Phillips)
8. My Battle
9. Little Bird (words by Jonatha Brooke)
10. Taste of Danger (words by Jonatha Brooke)
11. New Star (with Derek Trucks)
12. King of My Love
13. No More Letters

Bad Dog Records. 2008. CD.

"Mermaid Avenue, Vol. II" CD

Artists: Billy Bragg & Wilco (with special guests Natalie Merchant and Corey Harris)

In this second volume of material, Billy Bragg and Wilco explore Woody's previously unheard lyrics, taking us in new and evermore revealing directions. My Flying Saucer and Joe DiMaggio Done It Again place Woody smack dab in Coney Island in the late '40's.

1. Airline to Heaven
2. My Flying Saucer
3. Feed of Man
4. Hot Rod Hotel
5. I Was Born
6. Secret of the Sea
7. Stetson Kennedy
8. Remember the Mountain Bed
9. Blood of the Lamb
10. Aginst Th' Law
11. All You Fascists
12. Joe DiMaggio Done It Again
13. Meanest Man
14. Black Wind Blowing
15. Someday Some Morning Sometime

Elektra Entertainment. 2000. CD.

"New Multitudes" CD
Artists: Jay Farrar, Will Johnson, Anders Parker and Yim Yames

Like a cadre of musical brothers finally coalescing after years on the road apart, Jay Farrar (Son Volt, Gob Iron, Uncle Tupelo), Will Johnson (Centro-matic, South San Gabriel), Anders Parker (Varnaline, Gob Iron) and Jim James (My Morning Jacket, Monsters of Folk) gratefully deliver New Multitudes, an intimate interpretation of American icon and musical legend Woody Guthrie’s previously unrecorded lyrics.

“These guys worked on an amazing group of lyrics” says Nora. “Much of it was culled from Woody’s times in L.A. Lyric wise, it’s a part of the story that is still mostly unknown. From Woody’s experiences on LA’s skid row to his later years in Topanga Canyon, they are uniquely intimate, and relate two distinctly emotional periods in his life.”

1. Hoping Machine
2. Fly High
3. My Revolutionary Mind
4. V.D. City
5. Old L.A.
6. Talking Empty Bed Blues
7. Chorine My Sheba Queen
8. Careless Reckless Love
9. Angel’s Blues
10. No Fear
11. Changing World
12. New Multitudes

Rounder Records. 2012. CD.

More from this collection