Cart 0

Introduction to Woody ~ Gift Set


"Take it easy, but take it!" - WG

Get to know Woody through this special collection where you can read his own words, hear his own stories in his own voice, and read what Pete Seeger has called this "the best book about Woody ever written!"

This Gift Set includes:

- "This Land Was Made For You And Me" Book
- "The Live Wire: Woody Guthrie In Performance 1949" Book and CD
- "This Land Is Your Land: Asch Recordings, Vol. 1" CD

- "Bound For Glory" Autobiography
- "Dustbowl Ballads" CD
- "Woody Guthrie" photograph magnet
- "Hootenanny" magnet 
- 2 x "Blackwing" pencils

"This Land Was Made For You And Me" Book
by Elizabeth Partridge
Recommended Ages: 10+
Winner of the 2002 Boston Globe Horn Book Award.

Pete Seeger has called this "the best book about Woody ever written!"

This easy to read biography is the first to fully utilize the resources available in the Woody Guthrie Archives. This book is particularly good for young adults and those just discovering Woody Guthrie. Filled with rare and beautiful photos.

9" x 9.75". Viking. Hardcover. 216 pgs. 2002.

"The Live Wire: Woody Guthrie in Performance 1949" Book & CD
Artist: Woody & Marjorie Guthrie
*GRAMMY Award Winner for Best Historical Album!

For the first time hear Woody Guthrie perform live!

In 2001, The Woody Guthrie Archives received 2 spools of wire recordings from a live Woody Guthrie performance held in Newark, New Jersey in 1949. With the help of many talented recording engineers, the Woody Guthrie Foundation transferred this rare live performance from a delicate wire recording to digital audio, and, with state-of-the-art technology, restored it to near-perfection. This is one of the most significant recent finds in folk music history.

Packaged in a 72-page hardcover book including:
- Extensive historical text
- Original lyrics from The Woody Guthrie Archives
- Never-before-seen photos of Woody Guthrie in performance
- Historic and technical notes on wire recordings and the audio restoration processes
And a PDF transcript of the entire recording

1. How much? How long?
2. Black Diamond
3. I was there and the dust was there
4. The Great Dust Storm
5. Folk singers and dancers
6. Talking Dust Bowl Blues
7. Tom Joad
8. Columbia River
9. Pastures of Plenty
10. Grand Coulee Dam
11. Told by Mother Bloor
12. 1913 Massacre
13. Quit sending your inspectors
14. Goodbye Centralia
15. A cowboy of some kind
16. Dead or Alive
17. Jesus Christ has come!
18. Jesus Christ

Total Running Time: 74:54
*Tracks in italics are spoken word.

Woody Guthrie Publications, Inc. 2007. 6 1/2" x 8" Hardcover Book & CD.

"This Land Is Your Land: Asch Recordings, Vol. 1" CD
Artist: Woody Guthrie

From the surviving master tapes, a 4-part series presents many of Guthrie's best-known song. This first volume features Guthrie's anthem, This Land is Your Land, which includes never-before-issued lyrics.

1. This Land Is Your Land
2. Car Song (Riding In My Car)
3. Ramblin’ Round
4. Talking Fishing Blues
5. Philadelphia Lawyer
6. Lindbergh
7. Hobo's Lullaby
8. Pastures of Plenty
9. Grand Coulee Dam
10. End of My Line
11. New York Town
12. Gypsy Davy
13. Jesus Christ
14. This Land Is Your Land (with "No Trespassing" verse)
15. Do Re Mi
16. Jarama Valley
17. The Biggest Thing That Man Has Ever Done
18. Picture From Life’s Other Side
19. Jesse James
20. Talking Hard Work
21. When that Great Ship Went Down
22. Hard, Ain’t It Hard
23. Going Down the Road Feeling Bad
24. I Ain’t Got Nobody
25. Sinking of the Reuben James
26. Why, Oh Why?
27. This Land Is Your Land (reprise)

Smithsonian/Folkways. 1997. CD.

"Bound For Glory" Autobiography
by Woody Guthrie

Woody's autobiographical novel written in 1943 has become a classic of American literature. Introduction by Pete Seeger.

"Deserves the attention of this is not only a fascinating autobiography, it is the voice from the grass roots of America...Woody speaks for the indomitable spirit of an independent man set out to do his own thing." - Library Journal. 

Penguin Paperback. 320 pgs.

"Dustbowl Ballads" CD
Artist: Woody Guthrie

Recorded in 1940, and later reissued by Folkways Recordings in 1950, Guthrie’s first album chronicles the American Dust Bowl through his prosaic style of talking blues. Using only guitar and vocals, the album follows the exodus of Midwesterners headed for California and mirrors both Guthrie’s own life and John Steinbeck’s novel The Grapes of Wrath.

1. Talking Dust Bowl
2. Blowin' Down This Road
3. Do-Re-Mi
4. Dust Cain't Kill Me
5. Tom Joad
6. The Great Dust Storm
7. Dusty Old Dust (So Long It's Been Good To Know Yuh)
8. Dust Bowl Refugee
9. Dust Pneumonia Blues
10. I Ain't Got No Home In This World Anymore
11. Vigilante Man

Smithsonian Folkways. 1964. CD.

 Woody Guthrie Photograph - 2" x 3" Magnet

Photo of Woody Guthrie by Al Aumueller.
2" x 3" hard backed refrigerator magnet.

"Hootenanny" artwork - 2" x 3" Magnet

Artwork by Woody Guthrie. 
2" x 3" hard backed refrigerator magnet.

2 x "Blackwing" Pencils

Blackwing is honoring Woody Guthrie's life and creative legacy with their limited edition Blackwing pencil #223!

This is a tribute to Woody and his immutable optimism. Each pencil features a design inspired by This Land’s “ribbon of highway,” “endless skyway” and “golden valley.” The matte black ferrule and earth-toned eraser are a nod to the many miles Woody traveled.

More from this collection